The Texas Board of Legal Specialization recognizes attorneys in various areas of law, who because of experience, training and knowledge are awarded certificates of special competence.

Q. What are the general requirements for Board Certification?

A. An attorney must have :

  • Been licensed for at least 5 years
  • Spent three years of practice in specialty field
  • Devoted at least 25-50% of practice to field of specialty
  • Handled a wide variety of cases in field
  • Attended continuing legal education seminars
  • Received approval of judges and colleagues
  • Passed a written examination

    Q. What Areas of law have a Board Certification program?

    A. Currently the Texas Board of Legal Specialization recognizes the following Fields of law for Board Certification:

    • Administrative
    • Bankruptcy
    • Civil Appellate
    • Civil Trial
    • Criminal
    • Estate Planning and Probate
    • Family
    • Immigration and Nationality
    • Labor
    • Oil, Gas and Mineral
    • Personal Injury Trial
    • Real Estate
    • Tax

    Q. How many attorneys are currently Board Certified?

    A. There approximately 5,000 Texas attorneys now board certified out of a total of State Bar Membership of almost 54,000.

    Q. How long does an attorney remain certified?

    A. Certification is for a period of 5 years. In order to remain certified after that time, the attorney must apply for recertification and meet the requirements for continuing legal education and substantial involvement in the specialty field every 5 years.

    Q. How does the consumer know whether an attorney is Board Certified?

    A. A Board Certified attorney is entitled to indicate certification on the business card and letterhead , display of the Certificate of Special Competence, and by listing the certification in legal directories and telephone listings under "Attorneys (or Lawyers) Board Certified".